Editor: Diane Hutchinson Editor@girlgamersuk.com

The Art Of Subversion In Crimes & Punishments

Comments Off on The Art Of Subversion In Crimes & Punishments

Yakuza 6 Story and Gameplay Trailers

Comments Off on Yakuza 6 Story and Gameplay Trailers

Frontier Announces Planet Zoo

Comments Off on Frontier Announces Planet Zoo

Lady Gaga Goes Hello Kitty On Us

Comments Off on Lady Gaga Goes Hello Kitty On Us


Posted by TurtleGirl On September - 29 - 2014

A cross-industry jury of leading figures from film, television and games industries met at the headquarters of the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA), 195 Piccadilly in London, to decide which talented newcomers will be named this year’s BAFTA Breakthrough Brits, in partnership with Burberry.

The jury – which included BAFTA-winning actor Olivia Colman (Broadchurch, Twenty Twelve), BAFTA-winning actor/director Richard Ayoade (The IT Crowd, Submarine) and actor Jack O’Connell (Skins, Starred Up, ’71) – agreed the successful individuals, who will be revealed at a showcase event at the global Burberry flagship store, 121 Regent Street, on Monday 27 October.

BAFTA Breakthrough Brits, which was launched in conjunction with Burberry in 2013, is now in its second year. The initiative celebrates and supports the UK’s future stars of film, television and games through mentoring, guidance sessions and networking opportunities, as well as free access to BAFTA events, over 12 months.

The jury was comprised of an impressive list of industry experts from across film, television and games, all keen to support emerging British talent. These included several BAFTA winners and nominees such as: producer Hilary Bevan Jones (State of Play, Cracker); screenwriter Ronan Bennett (Top Boy, Public Enemies); James Bond producer Barbara Broccoli OBE (Skyfall, Casino Royale); Charles Cecil MBE, Co-Founder of Revolution Software (Broken Sword: The Shadow of the Templars, Doctor Who: The Adventure Games); Documentary-maker Molly Dineen (Lie of the Land, The Ark); Composer Anne Dudley (The Full Monty, Jeeves and Wooster); Game developer Nina Kristensen (Devil May Cry, Heavenly Sword); Polly Leys (Random, Holy Flying Circus); and Director Mike Newell (Four Weddings and a Funeral, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire).

Also participating in the jury were: game developer Georg Backer (Catcha Catcha Aliens); producer James Dean (This is Jinsy, Supersize vs Superskinny); Tim Corrie, co-founder of United Agents; Cinematographer Ula Pontikos (Lilting, Weekend); Lee Schuneman, Studio Head at Microsoft’s Lift London; and Piers Wenger, Head of Drama at Channel 4 and E4.

John Willis, Deputy Chairman of BAFTA, who chaired the jury after an open call for nominations, said: “The standard of the candidates across film, television and games has been even higher in this second year, as more potential applicants have understood the value of being a Breakthrough Brit. We look forward to revealing the names of this year’s honourees in October, and supporting them over the coming year as their careers develop. Some of our inaugural Breakthrough Brits have already gone on to become BAFTA winners, so the sky really is the limit.”

This year’s initiative is also supported by Rosewood London and Audi.

Full list of jurors:

John Willis (Jury Chair) – Chief Executive of Mentorn Media, Group Creative Director of Tinopolis plc, and Deputy Chairman of BAFTA

Georg Backer (Games Sub-Committee Chair) – Game developer

Hilary Bevan Jones (Film and TV Sub-Committee Co-Chair) – Producer

James Dean (Film and TV Sub-Committee Co-Chair) – Producer

Richard Ayoade – Actor

Ronan Bennett – Screenwriter

Barbara Broccoli OBE– Producer

Charles Cecil MBE – Co-Founder of Revolution Software

Olivia Colman – Actor

Tim Corrie – Agent

Molly Dineen – Documentary director, cinematographer and producer

Anne Dudley– Composer

Nina Kristensen – Game developer

Polly Leys – Producer

Mike Newell – Director

Jack O’Connell – Actor

Ula Pontikos – Cinematographer

Lee Schuneman – Studio Head at Microsoft’s Lift London

Piers Wenger – Head of Drama at Channel 4 and E4

Comments are closed.

Cozy Grove Due This Spring

Posted by GG Goblin
  • title_ad2
  • title_ad2
  • title_ad2
  • title_ad2
  • title_ad2
  • Disco Elysium: The Final Cut

    Posted by GG Goblin

    Black Legend

    Posted by GG Goblin

    Balan Wonderworld

    Posted by GG Goblin

    Evil Genius 2: World Domination

    Posted by GG Goblin


    Posted by GG Goblin

    Spacebase Startopia

    Posted by GG Goblin

    Endzone – A World Apart

    Posted by GG Goblin

    Story of Seasons: Pioneers of Olive Town

    Posted by GG Goblin